Smith Rock
State Park

Near Bend, Oregon, United States

If you enjoy scenic views of deep river canyons or rock climbing, Smith Rock State Park is the place for you. There are several thousand climbs in the park. More than a thousand are bolted routes. We also offer miles of hiking and mountain biking trails. Along your trip through the canyon, you might see golden eagles, prairie falcons, mule deer, river otter and beaver.

Note: Some climbing areas are closed or have limited access from about Jan. 15 to Aug. 1 to protect golden eagle and falcon nesting areas. Drones are also not allowed during this period. Look for signs at the park showing the closed climbing routes or visit the seasonal closure page on (this page link opens in a new window and the page isn't managed by Oregon State Parks).

Due to the uniqueness and fragile aspect of the park, park rangers enforce the animal leash law and ask all park users to stay on trails.

2023 construction project update

The new 8-foot wide pedestrian bridge constructed late summer 2023 is open. Restoration work near the bridge will continue through the end October.

Another project is planned to build a new visitor center and improve parking, traffic flow and some trails. General obligation bonds approved by the 2021 Oregon Legislature will fund the project. Learn more

Bivouac Camping

Camping is open early spring through late fall, as weather allows.

  • Walk-in bivouac area for tents (No reservations) 
  • Showers (overnight guests only)
  • RV camping, sleeping in vehicles and open fires are not allowed
mdi-white-balance-sunny Open for day use year round mdi-tent Open for camping Mar 15 – Nov 15 mdi-car-side First-come, first-served camping mdi-currency-usd
Day-use parking permit required
(purchase 1-day permit on site)
Day-use parking permit
(1-day purchased on-site)
Buy annual permit
mdi-cellphone Call for info: 800-551-6949
Call park: 541-548-7501
Current Conditions Directions Feedback

Amenities & Features


mdi-help-circle-outline General

Do I need a permit to film or photograph commercially?

Permits are often required for commercial filming and photography. Please contact the park manager at 541-548-7501 to determine if you will need a permit.

I need a guide or have specific climbing related questions. Who should I ask?

Their are many climbing outfitter/guide services that operate at Smith Rock. An internet search or phone book reference will provide contact information. Park Staff does not provide referrals or specific climbing information.

Is there a website where I can learn more about Smith Rock, current weather conditions and more?

Yes, go to

mdi-help-circle-outline About Camping

What is the cost to tent camp at the park?

Camping permits are available at the fee station located at the entrance to the Bivouac camping area. Camping fees are $8.00 per person per night.

Are campfires allowed in the campground?

Camp fires are not permitted year round due to the dry high desert climate at the park.

Are you allowed to sleep in your vehicle?

County rules prohibit sleeping in your vehicle at Smith Rock State Park.

Where is the nearest campground that allows RVs and sleeping in your vehicle?

USFS Skull Hollow Campground

Located 9 miles NE of Smith Rock State Park on Lone Pine Road

Open seasonally, March 15th - November 15th (weather permitting)

70 standard campsites, no hookups or dumping facilities, no drinking water, on-site campground host.


Can I make a reservation for camping?

No, camping is on a  first come first serve basis only.

mdi-help-circle-outline What's Allowed

Are there any climbing closures in effect?

Climbing route closures for the protection of nesting birds of prey are common at Smith Rock but typically affect lesser used climbing areas. Please look for posted closures on informational kiosks in the park and for signs at the closure sites.

mdi-help-circle-outline Day use/Special Events

What hours is the park's day use area open?

The Park is open from dawn to dusk (30 minutes prior to sunrise and 30 minutes after sunset).

After dusk, use of park day use facilities or property is prohibited.

Some (not all) reasons/concerns for the enforcement of this existing rule:
a. Illegal camping including illegal campfires in high fire season.
b. Lack of park staff and resources to manage the use.
c. Limited emergency response resources.

Where can I buy an Oregon State Parks Annual Pass

12 month and 24 month Annual passes are sold at the park's Welcome Center during scheduled hours of operation (hours vary). Annual passes are also available at Terrebonne Thriftway in Terrebonne, or online at

I want to have a wedding or other event at the park. Do I need a permit?

Permits are often required for special events. Please contact the Park Manager or Park Ranger at 541-548-7501 to see if you will need a permit.

Weddings groups of no more than 50 people can reserve the North Point Amphitheater space by calling the park office at 541-548-7501 extension 1, and leaving a message.  Reservations can be made up to 6 months in advance beginning at 6am.

What hours is the Welcome Center open?

The Welcome Center hours are posted at the park monthly and vary depending on visitation levels, holidays, events and available volunteer staffing.

For more questions, review our statewide FAQ


The park was obtained between 1960 and 1975 by purchase and gifts of land from the city of Redmond and Harry and Diane Kem. Many believe that Smith Rock is named in honor of John Smith a Linn County lawman or Pvt. Volk Smith a soldier who fell to his death in the park during a battle with the Northern Paiute in 1863. The Debate Continues...


Brochures and Maps

mdi-file-pdf-box Smith Rock trail map