At its peak, the 19th century mining town of Golden, now a ghost town, was home to 100 people and served as a hub for many others who worked the land in more remote locations. The 1850s mining camp eventually gave way to a town established around 1890. Golden was distinguished by its lack of saloons in the town center, its two active churches and the large orchard established by its founding families. Today, visitors can explore the remaining settlements perched above the valley where miners once toiled.
Golden's remains include four buildings: a church, a former residence, a shed and a structure that once housed a post office and store. The entire property is in the National Register of Historic Places.
Golden is a ghost town with four remaining structures. In 1968, Josephine County bought up the old Ruble mining claims near Golden. The property was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2002, and OPRD purchased it that same year. It is the only former mining community owned and managed by OPRD. In 2006, OPRD purchased another 5.43 acres from Golden Coyote Wetlands, Inc. to add to the site.