Humbug Mountain State Park includes one of the Oregon coast’s highest headlands, which shelters an inviting, forest-ringed campground along Brush Creek. A trail from the campground leads under Highway 101 to a sandy beach beside the Brush Creek estuary.
A 5.5-mile hike to the 1,765-foot summit of Humbug Mountain offers south-facing ocean views. The Oregon Coast Trail also passes through the park. The section north of the campground follows Old Highway 101 north for several miles until it joins Highway 101. This worn, paved route has long been closed to vehicles and treats hikers to magnificent ocean views.
The park also has a reservable picnic area with a gazebo in the day-use area 1/2 mile southeast of the park (no potable water).
The original land purchase from Carl White in 1926 was 30.6 acres near the mouth of Brush Creek. Sixteen other tracts were purchased between 1930 and 1975. Initial development of Humbug Mountain commenced in 1934 using Civilian Conservation Corps forces. In 1952, overnight camping was developed to offer visitors opportunity for an extended stay. Once known as Sugarloaf Mountain, the name was changed to "Tichenor's Humbug" after an exploring party sent forth from Port Orford by townsite developer Captain William Tichenor in 1851 mistakenly went south instead of north, toward the mountain. Eventually, the name was shortened to Humbug Mountain. In 1958, a major forest fire burned much of the north side of the park. The balance of mountain timber was saved by a change of wind as onlookers watched, helpless but thankful.
Come celebrate on June 4th 2022 Oregon State Parks 100 years and Cape Blanco Lighthouse 150 year Anniversary. Coast Guard flyover at 2 PM. The Coquille Indian Tribe. Music by…