mdi-tent Reserve

Catherine Creek State Park

Near LaGrande, Oregon, United States

mdi-tent Reserve

Tranquil, crystal-clear waters and towering ponderosa pines frame the landscape at Catherine Creek State Park. Cradled in a canyon created by the creek, the park provides visitors a cool, quiet, and peaceful setting for outdoor activities. Camp next to Catherine Creek and enjoy the thrill of landing a rainbow trout, or simply cool your heels in its icy waters.

Two reservable picnic areas are perfect for a gathering or reunion. When not reserved, the area is first-come, first-served. Enjoy a game of horseshoe, take a leisurely walk along the trail between the campground and picnic area for views of picturesque canyon scenery, or simply kick back under a tree and enjoy the summer breeze through the pines.

The park is a gateway to many regional attractions: visit the Union County Museum in Union or the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center near Baker City, or visit one of the many historic cemeteries in the area. Cast your line in Eagle Creek, or plan a hike in the Hells Canyon National Recreation Area or the Wallowa-Whitman National Forest. The towns of Union and La Grande offer visitors full-service shopping, restaurants, community events and emergency services. 

Campground info

  • 20 primitive sites with water nearby (one site is accessible)
  • Parking at all sites (can accommodate self-contained RVs)
  • Restrooms with flush toilets
  • 2 reservable group picnic areas
  • Firewood for sale
  • Horseshoe pits
  • 3-mile hiking trail
Effective Apr 22, 2021
Group day-use reservations open April 22 with a 25-person maximum. 
mdi-white-balance-sunny Open for day use Apr 22 – Oct 12
COVID-19 may affect dates
mdi-tent Open for camping Apr 22 – Oct 12
COVID-19 may affect dates
mdi-cellphone Call for reservations: 800-452-5687
Call for info: 800-551-6949
Call park: 541-983-2277
Current Conditions Directions Feedback

Amenities & Features

History

Acquired in 1947 by gift from Union County and the E. S. Collins Estate. An additional parcel was transferred from the Oregon Highway Division as a park maintenance site in 1975. The area was once known as Presbyterian Flat. When owned by E. S. Collins, a prominent Portland lumber man, it was known as Collins Park. In 1932, Mr. Collins deeded the tract to Union County for park purposes. Partly due to problems in maintenance funding, the county deeded the land to the state. The area was developed for day use and primitive camping in the 1950's.

Brochures and Maps

mdi-file-pdf-box Northeast Oregon campgrounds brochure and map mdi-file-pdf-box Pets in Parks

Photos & Video

Some parks are open for day-use and camping, with reduced services. Check the Park Status Map and FAQ for details.